Meet the Governors

The Governing Body

Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, leadership and management of the school on a day to day basis, overall responsibility lies with the Governing Body. This includes assisting with the appointment of staff, having oversight of the curriculum and ensuring that the premises and finances of the school are efficiently and effectively used.

The Governing Body, as a whole, meets regularly throughout the year, in addition to the meetings of its various sub-committees. All Governors are also linked to aspects of our current School Development Plan, which they monitor through visits to school and discussion with staff. Members are either elected (parent governors) or appointed (community and foundation members) and each hold a given term of office.

Chair of Governors
Mrs Andrea Lister

Vice Chair of Governors
Dr Christopher Shipley (Co-opted)

Co-opted Governors
Mrs Julia Banks
Mrs Olivia Cunliffe-Lister
Mrs Julie Warcup ( Child Protection governor)

Foundation Governors
Mrs Sarah Burdass (Pupil Premium Champion)
Mrs Sally Ostler

Parent Governors
Mrs Anna Jackson

Mrs Joanne Thompson (SEN Governor)


Staff Governors
Mrs Rebecca Lee
Mrs Helen Jameson



What Governors at Burton Agnes CE Primary School Do
Updated: 14/06/2018 34 KB
Governor roles and responsibilites
Governing body Information 2019-2020
Updated: 09/03/2020 25 KB
The following information informs you of who makes up our Governing Body, what their responsibilities are and the level of attendance at meetings this year.
Committee Structures 2019 -2020
Updated: 15/11/2019 410 KB
Instrument of Government
Updated: 06/12/2018 30 KB